More Views

Art.Nr. 9780193527485
ISBN 9780193527485
Edition Stimmenset

Francesco Durante

Magnificat (arr. J. Rutter)

Quick Overview

for SATB and chamber ensemble

: SATB und Kammerensemble

A splendid curtain-raiser to Vivaldi's Gloria, Francesco Durante's artful Magnificat has long been misattributed to his pupil Pergolesi in a version for four voices, not five. Durante's vocally richer five-voice version has been chosen for the Sacred Choruses volume, which this orchestration accompanies, and merits performance as an alternative to the familiar four-voice version, which may or may not have been Durante's own work.
This complete set contains 4 x vln I, 4 x vln II, 2 x vc, 2 x db, 1 x continuo, and 1 x lute.