More Views

21 x 29,7 cm, 16 pages

Art.Nr. VHR 3898
ISBN 978-3-86434-142-7
ISMN 979-0-2013-1052-7
Edition Score and Parts

Andrea Holzer-Rhomberg

Der Philosoph

Quick Overview

The Philosopher
For: Violin 1, Violin 2, Cello 1, Cello 2, Double Bass, Piano (Viola 1, Viola 2 optional)

: String Orchestra

The Philosopher – an expressive piece of music, which the audience will love because of the rich string sound. The melodic lines are well distributed amongst the different instrumental groups. This composition is ideal to practise phrasing.

While the parts of violin 1, viola 1 and cello 1 include partly passages up to the 3rd/4th position, the parts of violin 2, viola 2 and cello 2 can be played by students in the first or second year of learning the instrument. These parts also contain pleasing melodies, not just accompaniment.

Technique required:
Vl. 1: 1st and 3rd position
Vl. 2: 1st and 2nd finger pattern in the 1st position
Vla. 1: all finger patterns in the 1st position
Vla. 2: 1st and 2nd finger pattern in the 1st position
Cl. 1: 1st – 4th position
Cl. 2: closed (regular) 1st position
DB.: 1st position

Level: easy to moderately difficult

Listening Samples

Sample Pages

(Size: 39.3 KB)