More Views

17,0 x 24,0 cm, 226 pages

Art.Nr. HN 9072
ISMN 9790201890722
Edition Study score

Joseph Haydn

Sinfonie D-dur Hob. I:104

: Orchestra

The twelve “London Symphonies” comprise the sublime final statement of Haydn’s symphonic œuvre. They were written for the London impresario Johann Peter Salomon, and Haydn himself conducted their premieres during his lengthy stays in the English metropolis in 1791/92 and 1794/95. The D-major Symphony no. 104 was composed as the last of the “London Symphonies” in early 1795 and is not only the concluding work, but also the highlight of Haydn’s symphonic output overall. It firmly established the high standards of the genre for future generations of composers and probably Haydn’s most performed symphony to this day. This study edition adopts the musical text of the Haydn Complete Edition, thereby guaranteeing the highest scholarly quality. An informative preface and a brief Critical Report make the handy score an ideal companion for all current and soon-to-be Haydn fans.